Skip to content

Thank God!

January 13, 2010
Good riddance!

Good riddance!

What a joyous news it was! I was sitting on a chair at the kitchen in my house, while my parents were watching television at the living room. I couldn’t see it, but I was close enough to listen. They were watching Jornal Nacional – it’s pretty much like BBC News for us here in Brazil, in a comparison – but I wasn’t paying much attention on it. But suddenly, excellent news reached my ears: Nelson Piquet Jnr gave up completely on Formula 1 to race in NASCAR for 2010, although the Brazilian gave no word on which team or series he is going to join.

Ok, I know that his chances of making a comeback to Formula 1 were slim, but just the thought of seeing him again on the grid, even if at the back of it, was giving me the shivers. What a relief it was, for me and probably for all F1 fans…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael Griffin permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:21 am

    My day sucked yesterday, it could not have been any worse quite frankly.

    However, this single piece of news has made my year! All jokes aside, how he can be accepted in to any form of motorsport in legal existence is beyond me, if he crashes and his team-mate ends up winning, God help us all.

    • January 13, 2010 10:37 am

      Sorry to hear about your bad day Mike but glad this news cheered you up.
      Nice article Gilly :) Really enjoyed the personal take on it. There will always be much debate over this whole affair.
      For me, I can’t take any joy at this news. I’ve learnt never to make any absolute predictions about F1 this means that I can never be comfortable while there is a possiblity that someday Piquet could return. I don’t buy the following orders excuse (he has a mind of his own), that he is a kid (I’m younger and I can tell right from wrong) or that Briatore was in control. Certainly, Britatore was piling pressure on Nelson but in the end Flav could have ranted until he was blue in the face as it was up to Nelson whether he crashed or not.
      I don’t think he should be allowed to race in any category. Racing has a lot of trust involed, trust in the machinery, that you can achieve such speeds, that you can pull off overtakes but trust that the drivers aroudn you will fight fairly and I don’t see how anyone could trust Piquet again.
      I wonder how the world of NASCAR feels?
      Maybe I’m being a bit harsh-but I always wonder what if some debris had came off and spectators were at risk?
      I know Briatore and Symonds were absolutely wrong too but at least there was some attempt to punish them but the FIA may as well have gave the Brazilian driver a pat on the back.

  2. January 24, 2010 12:01 am

    im delighted he is gone crash after crash and then cheated by crashing.hope he never comes back but unfortuantly cheats are allowed in f1 briatore piquet and symonds should be banned for life

Leave a Reply

